Card Game FAQs

Q: I landed on the last card on The Floor, which was a Hole. The card says to leave it there until after my lost turn, but what do the rest of the players do in the meantime when there are no other cards on The Floor? Do they just have to move to empty spaces until my lost turn is over?

A: Well, technically yes. A depleted Floor isn’t replaced until all cards are gone, so by strict adherence to the rules, the other players should take their turns — replenishing their hands and moving to empty spaces and playing Action cards — until the Hole player’s lost turn is over and they’ve placed the Hole card in their hand.

HOWEVER: In the interest of expediency, it’s quite all right to speed things up a bit. If the last card on The Floor is a Hole, that player goes ahead and places the card in their hand, thereby clearing the Floor and requiring a new one to be dealt. Play continues, with players entering the new Floor, but the Hole player still loses a turn when play comes around to them.

Q: Special cards can be played at any time? Even during a Ghoul battle?

A: Any time. Here’s an example of how a Special can be played during a Ghoul battle (it’s kind of a spoiler, so don’t spread it around): Let’s say you encounter a 5 Ghoul on your latest movement. You have only a 2 and a 1 in your Battle Cards, but you also have the Special card that allows you to replenish your hand. Here’s what to do: Play the 2 and the 1 to the table (in other words, get them out of your hand), then play the Special card. You can now replenish your hand up to seven (the Battle cards are on the table, so they don’t count as part of your hand). Fingers crossed your new cards include enough Ghoo blasts to defeat the 5 Ghoul.